November 15, 2017

Our opening Classical Plus concert is an eclectic mix of musical genius. Copland’s Music for the Theatre is a jazzy score for a lean chamber ensemble and represents his first exploration in creating his famous American sound. Written by one of the brightest young voices of Canadian new music, Astopov’s Ictus solis is minimalist, colourful and luminous. David’s Concertino is full of flashy technique, lovely lyrical phrases and triumphantly features TBSO Principal Trombone Erik Hongisto. The concert finishes with Mozart’s magnificent and well-loved Symphony No. 40.


Erik Hongisto, trombone


Aaron Copland - Music for the Theatre
Eugene Astapov – Ictus solis
Ferdinand David - Concertino op. 4
W.A. Mozart – Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K.550


Hilldale Lutheran Church

Part of the following subscriptions

Season Pass
Select 6
Season Sponsors
Government Support